Ruined castle dating from 1215
→Battle Abbey: Located on site of Battle of Hastings, 1066.Original 11th century structure was largely replaced in the 13th century.Here you will find explorations of many aspects of Knaresborough history and the people who have made it such a fascinating place.
There is the remains of a bartizan (a turret corbelled out from the wall on cut stone corbels, used for defence) on the west corner.
In the late twelfth and early thirteenth century the invading Anglo-Normans identified the strategic importance of the Maigue, and gradually established a series of fortresses along its western shore, some a rebuilding of existing forts.
An early castle was built at Newtown near the mouth of the river, another near the ford at Croom by 1215 when it was granted to Maurice Fitzgerald, an old fort at Adare was walled, and by 1280 there was a castle on raised ground near a bridging point on the river at Castleroberts. Situated a few miles from the bank of the river behind Castleroberts Fanningstown seems to have been part of a second line of defence.
The influence of Bishop Burnell was such that this little Shropshire village twice hosted the English Parliament, first in 1283 and again in 1285. Built following the Norman conquest and renovated and remodelled many times since then, it is the great northern fortress of the powerful Percy family, the Dukes of Northumberland.
All that remains open to the public is the shell of the former private residence. Insid, the rooms have also been remodelled over the centuries, most notably by the famous Robert Adam in the 18th century. Standing guard over the Eden Valley since Norman times, the castle was once owned by the Kings of England.
The development of the name of the town is explored in ‘From Chenaresburg to Knaresborough’.